National Safety Awards (Mines) for Years 2011 & 2012 on 20th March 2015

Minerals constitute one of the main pillars of economic growth of county. Mineral industry in India has achieved tremendous growth and also imbibed the latest mining technologies. Along with this growth, there has been corresponding awareness of the need to protect the health and lives of workers.

Ministry of Labour & Employment, Government of India instituted National Safety Awards (Mines) in 1983 (for the contest year 1982) with a view to promote a competitive spirit amongst mine operators for the betterment of safety standards in mines and to give due recognition to outstanding safety performance at national level.

National Safety Awards (Mines) for the contesting years 2011 & 2012 was held at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi on 20th March 2015. Hon'ble President of India Shri Pranab Mukherjee gave away the awards to the awardees of the winning mines. The Minister of State for Labour and Employment (Independent Charge), Mr. Bandaru Dattatreya, the Secretary, Ministry of Labour and Employment, Mr. Shankar Agarwal and other dignitaries were also present

Total 647 mines were participated in various categories of Award Competitions and our Vastan Lignite Mine has won 1st Prize (winner) in the categories of Lowest Injury Frequency Rate (LIFR) Per Million Cubic Meter of Output for both consecutive year 2011 and 2012.

Back to Top